Header Ads

Sidebar Ad


The Black Satellites, Ghana's National Under 20 side, left for Niger on Monday to compete in the CAF African Cup of Nations for Under 20s to be held in Niger. The competition is due to  start on 2nd February ending on 17th February.

20 years ago, a Laryea Kingston strike over Nigeria ensured that Ghana won this tournament at home. 10 years on, 2009, Ghana led by Dede Ayew won it's 3rd trophy in the division  in Rwanda. Another 10 years on and the stakes are high with the nation making a return after an absence in the last edition. 

Their performance at the WAFU Cup casts doubts about this current crop as Ghana rubs shoulders with Senegal, Mail and Burkina Faso in a rather tough Group B. 

On February 3rd, Ghana will open their campaign against Burkina Faso before taking on Senegal three days later. The Satellites will end the group adventure with a game against Mali on February 9.

Group A, meanwhile, consists of hosts Niger, Nigeria, South Africa, and Burundi. The two top teams in each group secures qualification  for the 2019 Fifa Under-20 World Cup in Poland.
Who made the trip?  Below is the full list.

1. Ibrahim Danlad 
2.Nathaniel Agyei 
3. Fard Ibrahim 
4.Maxwell Arthur 
5.Sabit Abdulai 
6.Ibrahim Sulley 
7.Emmanuel Kumah
8. Prosper Ahiabu 
9. Umar Basit Abdulrahman 
10.Kudus Mohammed 
11.Sadiq Ibrahim 
12. Kamaheni Muntari 
13. Michael Baidoo 
14. Arhin Frank 
15.Konda Ishaku 
16.Abdul Nurudeen  Manaf 
17. Enoch Atta Agyei 
18. Daniel Lomotey 
19.Saliw Babawo 
20.Gideon Mensah
21.Fredrick Asare
22. Emmanuel Toku

The Black Satellites lost their last two friendly duels all in 3 goal thrillers. Premier League side Dreams FC walloped them by 3 unanswered goals with Hearts of Oak also emerging 2-1 victors over the lads. 

Powered by Blogger.